Study midpoint

This study, testing whether sesame oil can improve cardiovascular health, is 12 weeks long. My visits were scheduled every three weeks. But the first was just a quick drop-in to pick up a new supply of oil.

English: A glass of Orange juice.

“Taking the sesame oil was easier with a glass of juice.”

The researchers were very particular about how the oil was handled. They gave me a 2-tablespoon utensil to use for my daily dose, but reminded me that I would have to return the spoon when I was done. I also had to record the dose I took every day. Finally, I had to return the bottle with any unused oil. There was some extra in there in case I spilled, but they also measured to see precisely how much I used. It’s not that researchers lack trust in their volunteers – it’s all about data, data, and more data.

I also recorded any side effects I noticed. My only real problem was occasional nausea for a short while after taking my oil. But that was really my own fault. I didn’t split the dose, as some people had recommended. I was too impatient for that. I just wanted to get each dose taken as quickly as possible every day. My primary delivery vehicle was a glass of juice. I just mixed the oil in and drank it all in a few gulps. Eight ounces of juice helps the medicine go down, I guess.

I also occasionally mixed the oil into a small fruit cup and then swallowed the fruit, juice and oil contents all in just a few bites. The oil didn’t really taste bad – it was just somewhat inconvenient to add it to my diet.

It’s a small price to pay if we learn someday that a simple thing like adding a new type of fat to our diet can reduce the risk for heart problems.

At the six-week point, I had a longer and more involved visit. I did the oil swap, but also had to repeat many of the health measures from the beginning of the study and offer up a blood sample, too. I now had a chart, with a record of being a difficult blood draw (that’s physically difficult, mind you. I didn’t have a bad attitude). Once again, I was asked to lie on a patient bed, keep my feet up, relax and place a heating pad on my arm to promote blood flow. I remembered to drink plenty of water amd there were no problems this time.


Emily Caldwell science writer and co-editor

Read more posts from Emily

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: The Participant's Point of View

Subscribe to Study Notes

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Study midpoint”

  1. Kim
    March 29, 2013 at 8:00 am #

    I’d like to be in this study or a similar study. I’m registered on Research Match and hope I get contacted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 719 other followers

