Paging all orthopedists and neurologists, I’m available

English: X-ray of the erect lumbar spine with ...

X-ray of the erect lumbar spine with an S-convex scoliosis. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I first started my undergraduate journey at Ohio State, I was enrolled in a Psychology course that gave us the opportunity to participate in research studies instead of writing papers. Obviously, I jumped at the opportunity.

I hadn’t considered participating in a research study before, but it turned out to be a really fun experience and I discovered things that I didn’t know about myself. For example, I didn’t know that I can identify the sex of an individual after their face is quickly flashed on a screen with nearly perfect accuracy. I should remember that the next time I’m forced to share something “interesting” about myself on the first day of classes!

I found out about ResearchMatch during my internship with the OSU CCTS this summer. I thought it would be fun to participate in more research studies like the ones I participated in three years ago, so I began registration process on ResearchMatch.org.

Signing up for ResearchMatch was easier than I expected. Like any other account, it asked for my basic contact information, such as phone and email. After some more personal questions, such as height and weight, I was asked questions about my medical history, including current medications and conditions.

Once I answered those questions, I had to read and accept the policies, which I actually read, unlike the terms and conditions I blindly accept when completing updates for my computer. I was happy to see that I did not have to accept every opportunity that was emailed to me and I would not hurt anyone’s feelings by rejecting an offer.

The most exciting part of the process was discovering how many participants in ResearchMatch have the same conditions as me. For instance, there are about 210 participants with scoliosis, with the vast majority being female, just like me. Unfortunately, the severity of the condition was not recorded, so I could not find out if there were others who wore a brace as I had to when I was in elementary and middle school.

I’m not sure if there are any studies relating to scoliosis that are currently recruiting participants, but I would love to participate in one and I hope that I am contacted soon.

As of now, I have not been fully qualified for any of the studies I have been contacted about via email. I hope to participate in a study soon, but for now, I’ve registered with ResearchMatch and I’m just waiting to hear from all of those orthopedists and neurologists looking to fill their scoliosis research studies.

I’ll let you know when I am enrolled in my first study through ResearchMatch.

Register with ResearchMatch today


Lauren Sheridan guest blogger and study participant

Read more posts from Lauren

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: The Participant's Point of View

Subscribe to Study Notes

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

